Welcome to the 2020 Lake Atwood Ten Mile

(Since 1972 - the Oldest Road Race in Kansas)

Due to the continued threat of Covid-19,  we will not be having the Lake Atwood Ten Mile Race this year.

Keep running and we hope to see you in 2021.

Charles A Peckham

Race Director



When: The 49th Annual Lake Atwood Ten Mile will be held NEXT IN JULY 2021 beginning at 7:00 a.m. CDT

Course: The race is eight laps (plus 627 feet) around scenic Lake Atwood on a USATF certified (#KS11001DCR) hard surface course. View maps and certifications RaceMeasure You get your splits and a chance at water every lap. There are always other runners nearby (not all necessarily on the same lap as you).

Team Competition: Beginning in 2005 Team Competition was reduced from five runners to three runners.  Each team may have as many as five runners, but only the three best times will be averaged.  Men Teams averaging 58:00 and Women Teams averaging 68:00 qualify from cash place awards. 

Recognition: A Lake Atwood Ten Mile Finisher Towel will be awarded to every finisher. 


2019 Full Race Results


2018 Full Race Results


2017 Full Race Results


2016 Full Race Results

We hope to see you bright and early in Atwood!
Date: Postponed Until 2021
Time: 7:00 A.M.

Location: Atwood, Kansas

2008 Pictures

2006 Lake Atwood Ten Mile Honor Runners

Men:  Myron Leinwetter, Gannon White, Brian Dumm, Brad Pace, Steve Scoville, Andrew Leatherby, Marvin Metzer, Paul DiGrappa, Don McCandless, Austin Vigil, Bob McAnany and Noel Pace.  Women: Kim Jones, Maria Korb, Amy Hayes and Margaret Kritzer

Honor Runner:  The general standard adopted for Honor Runner status in the Men's division is a top 20% finish time in a Age Group for all races from 1972 through 2019. The exceptions to this general standard are: a) those runners in the 20-29 age group must be a top 10% finisher of all men runners in all races from 1972 through 2019; b) those in the 70 and older age groups must finish; and c) all runners completing 25 or more races qualify regardless of time.  Honor Runner status for women is 86.7% of the men's times. A percentage of the men's times is used for the women because we have had 2,892 men finishers and only 420 women finishers and thus a much larger experience base.  86.7% is used because this is the ratio between the women's top 10% times vs. the men's top 10% times.